Hong Kong- a culinary trip to Beijing

Mr. Bing is a cute little store located in Central with another branch located in Wanchai specializing in Beijing pancakes known as ‘Jian Bing’.
DSC02805
The menu is quite limited however enough to satisfy a variety of palettes. We chose the Original Jian Bing however there are other options including Char Siu, Peking duck with sweet options including nutella, kaya and condensed milk.

The pancakes are made in front of your very eyes, starting with a mixture of egg and a thin layer of green bean batter
DSC02798
Layered with their house sauce
DSC02799
Followed by cilantro
DSC02800
and a fried crisp for added texture
DSC02801
Neatly folded together
DSC02802
DSC02803
And Voila! hot and piping ready to serve.   A perfect complement to the meal would be a glass of soya milk however I wanted to reserve my stomach quota space.
DSC02806

After devouring half a Jian Bing, we decided to pay a visit to the Wang Fu Restaurant located a few steps away to continue our Beijing food theme. I’ve always passed by Wang Fu curious about their Beijing styled dumplings. The best dumplings I had in Hong Kong were at a cooked food centre in Sheung Wan… so how do these compare?
We ordered a plate of vegetarian dumplings which were generously stuffed with lettuce, chives and noodles. However the skin was not as al-dente as I liked and some dumplings had varying skin thickness compared to others. Ah, I hope I have time this trip to pay a visit to the cooked food centre! (as it is also a unique experience dining there in itself)
DSC02811
Winter time always makes me crave for noodles and thus a Zhazhang mian was in order!
DSC02807
Mixing is always my favourite part.
DSC02808
Mix.
DSC02809
Mix.
DSC02810
For the hour spent at lunch, I felt as if I had momentarily been transported back to Beijing during my trip there in 2007. Oh how time flies… and now I’m craving for Peking duck from Shatin 18!

Mr. Bing – LG/F, 83 Wellington St, Central, HK; Shop 6C, Southorn Centre, 113 Johnston Road, Wan Chai
Wang Fu Restaurant – 65 Wellington St., Central, HK

Hong Kong- a culinary trip to Beijing

One thought on “Hong Kong- a culinary trip to Beijing

Leave a comment